Sherman County School

Sherman County School District

Home of the Huskies

Sherman County - A Hidden Gem

Located in Moro is a modern, comprehensive K-12 facility in a class of it's own that opened in the fall of 2016. It is a clean and well maintained building with a unique safety plan in place to protect students and staff. A beautiful 7,000 square foot public/school library adjoins the school campus. Technology is well integrated into the curriculum. Chromebooks, high speed internet, interactive video, online classes and video on demand services are all available to support and augment instructional programs. The School enjoys an all-weather track facility, three spacious gymnasiums, beautiful baseball field, and new tennis courts.

Sherman County School is one of Oregon's best kept secrets. It is the heart and soul of the community with strong family values. Community support, staff dedication, and an incredible student body (approx. 250) are unparalleled. The school district is fortunate to have a solid local funding base comprised of SIP funds, an Athletic Foundation, Education Foundation, and a robust scholarship program. Student support is enhanced with a comprehensive counseling department that includes a K-12 Counselor, Qualified Mental Health Professional, College and Career Counselor and a Student Success Coach.

Sherman County is a rural agricultural community with the added economic development provided by Strategic Investment Program Funds (wind energy). It is located in north central Oregon between the John Day River on the east and the Deschutes River on the west. The Columbia River forms the boundary to the north. Much of the southern boundary is defined by the canyons of Buck Hollow creek, a tributary of the Deschutes. Sherman County enjoys four distinct seasons. Summers are warm, dry and clear. Winters are relatively mild; heavy snowfall is uncommon. The county is relatively small, with only 831 square miles, it is approximately 20 miles wide and 42 miles long, elevations range from 185 feet along the Columbia River to 3,600 feet on the plateau in the south. There are six small towns: Biggs Junction, Rufus, Wasco, Moro, Grass Valley and Kent within the county line that house approximately 1800 residents. Sherman County residents enjoy a variety of outdoor activities including windsurfing, boating, hiking, hunting, fishing and camping.

Powered By GrowthZone